What hardware are you using?

Discussion of hardware related issues

Moderator: crosscourt

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 5756
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Wed Feb 05, 2020 10:04 pm

My 16gb should be here tomorrow.
Site Moderator/technogeezer

User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 2828
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller » Wed Feb 05, 2020 10:59 pm

Well, apparently Dell REALLY stripped the bios out of these X370 chipsets. So DDR4 2666 won't boot with a 1700x, since 2xdual rank the 1700x only supports DDR4 2400.

So until I get a 2700x, it won't boot with the 32GB ram in it. Even if I do 1 2400, 1 2666, won't boot. Pretty crappy bios for a "gaming" desktop. I'll take the ram to work to verify it's perfectly fine on the Optiplex's we have, but 99% sure it will be, it's brand new ram. VERY attractive. White heatspreader. Guess that makes finding a 2700x a slightly higher priority now.

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 5756
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Wed Feb 05, 2020 11:14 pm

I just ordered 2666 2x8gb Crucial as the Ryzen 5 1400 supposedly supports 2666 but will they work? I do know that some people reported that they had issues booting with 16gb sticks and had no issues with 8gb sticks same speed ram.

The Crucial advisor tool though said the ram I ordered was compatible with the 5676 so who knows.
Site Moderator/technogeezer

User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 2828
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller » Thu Feb 06, 2020 12:04 am

crosscourt wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 11:14 pm
I just ordered 2666 2x8gb Crucial as the Ryzen 5 1400 supposedly supports 2666 but will they work? I do know that some people reported that they had issues booting with 16gb sticks and had no issues with 8gb sticks same speed ram.

The Crucial advisor tool though said the ram I ordered was compatible with the 5676 so who knows.
Well, much like the 2000 series, it depends on total ranks of memory what the max speed they support. Only thing I don't really like about the Ryzens. Now, a "proper" board you could attempt to force it faster than official, but those settings were stripped from the Dell bios.

User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 2828
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller » Thu Feb 06, 2020 1:39 pm

So, might have found the problem. The ram is fine, however it doesn't have SPD mapping, only XMP. Of course, Dell removed XMP support from their boards. So it detects as JEDEC standard...DDR4 2133.

Trying to decide if I want to return it, or just give up on the Dell and spend a few extra $$$ and just buy a new case/board/psu and rebuild the machine as a proper desktop. After seeing how cut down the BIOS truly is on this Dell, my opinion of building desktops nowadays being too much work is starting to change again. In order to have a desktop with any longevity, you MUST build it yourself (or have it build), OEM simply removes too many features to be viable as anything but a 12-18 month solution.

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 5756
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Thu Feb 06, 2020 5:05 pm

You beat me to it as Dell emailed me with the same response and a few other tech sites including my home site told me the same thing. Ill see how the Crucial ram does when it comes but at this point I still like my system and will continue to use it.
Site Moderator/technogeezer

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 5756
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Thu Feb 06, 2020 5:26 pm

Crucial emailed me and said their ram supports spd mapping and is compatible with the 5676 so should run at 2666mhz.
Site Moderator/technogeezer

User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 2828
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller » Thu Feb 06, 2020 8:17 pm

Yeah, I'm looking around. I think I'm going to buy a board/case/psu and rebuild this as a PROPER desktop that supports full hardware. Going to get a B450 board (3rd gen support), use the DDR4 2666 I have w/ the 1700X for now. RX580 and both my existing SSD's. Then when the price of a 3700x/3800x drops to a level I'd be willing to pay, I'll grab one of those to upgrade to. Will just skip the 2000 series.

User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 2828
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller » Thu Feb 06, 2020 11:19 pm

ASROCK B450 board ordered along with a EVGA 600-watt PSU and a pretty white mid-tower case that includes 2 120mm exhaust fans.

User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 2828
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller » Fri Feb 07, 2020 2:26 pm

Kinda getting excited. It's been like 12 years since I actually built a desktop fully (my old desktop lasted nearly 10 years it was upgraded so many times. Started out as a 4 core 8 GB ram 2 GB Nvidia GTX 460 and wound up 8 core 32 GB ram 4 GB Nvidia GTX 760).

I have built a cheap desktop about 6 years ago for my friend, out of my old secondary desktop I had lying in a corner, but it was mostly assembled already.

Post Reply