Garmin Express Downloader

Discussion of software apps
CaptNoize

Garmin Express Downloader

Post by CaptNoize »

I have a Garmin Nuvi 1450. It works great, but I need to update it. I have a lifetime subscription to update it for free, but Garmin doesn't work with Linux :roll: I did a websearch, and found Linux Mint, using Wine,( I use MX) will download maps and info onto the Garmin. Does anyone know how to do this...?? :shock:
crosscourt

Re: Garmin Express Downloader

Post by crosscourt »

Site Moderator
CaptNoize

Post by CaptNoize »

Thanks, CC
That seems like a real P.I.T.A. to try to get Linux to recognize my Garmin. If you read the comments at the end,a user,even after all the set up code writing, it still didn't work for him. I might just wait till I can use my friends laptop with winblows on it, to upgrade this stupid Garmin. :roll: :evil: :x
crosscourt

Post by crosscourt »

Some did get it to work but if you have a friends laptop with Windows Id just do that.
Site Moderator
dai_trying

Post by dai_trying »

I had an old TomTom sat nav that needed updating and found there was a download available but had to use Windows for the update, it's one of the reasons I always have a machine (or two) dual booted with Windows. It's the unfortunate necessary evil of computing IMO.
crosscourt

Post by crosscourt »

I have to say that Zorin has the best process for installing Windows related apps(OS makes sure everything is there thats needed to install app) Ive ever used and so far its worked very well. I havent tried it with Garmin Express though.
Site Moderator
CaptNoize

Post by CaptNoize »