Softmaker Office 2018 Linux released

Discussion of software apps
tlmiller

Softmaker Office 2018 Linux released

Post by tlmiller »

http://www.softmaker.com/en/softmaker-office-linux

I've already upgraded 1/2 2016 licenses to 2018 Pro. With 2018 Pro, if you're purchasing for home use, a single license can be used on 5 pc's simultaneously. Only 1 for business use.

I kept my other license @2016...at least for now.
crosscourt

Re: Softmaker Office 2018 Linux released

Post by crosscourt »

Ill have to give it a look but I prefer not to pay for an app if I can find one thats free with similar features and abilities.
Site Moderator
tlmiller

Post by tlmiller »

I do like free, but given that this is, IMO, the best office suite for linux, I have been supporting them for quite a few years with my money to show that there is a reason to release it.
crosscourt

Post by crosscourt »

No problem, I support various projects as well, but overall with so many good Office choices that are free, Im not inclined to pay for it.
Site Moderator
tlmiller

Post by tlmiller »

I actually would say with the possible exception of LibreOffice 6, if you REQUIRE interoperability with MS Office xml formats, there aren't many good choices. LO <6.0 had way too many issues, FreeOffice could open but not save MS xml, WPS office on Linux has essentially been abandoned since WPS bought out KingSoft, etc. OnlyOffice is very recent, and I'm quite happy with it, but SoftMaker has far more functionality (OnlyOffice is designed to be a webapp, so it's rather feature-light), so unless LO has finally gotten interoperability with MS formats down, SoftMaker is really the only full featured office software that can do it in linux.
crosscourt

Post by crosscourt »