Assunder Ripper Not Working

Discussion of software apps

Moderator: crosscourt

User avatar
CaptNoize
Posts: 980
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 8:04 pm
Location: Zombieland, Pa.
Contact:

Assunder Ripper Not Working

Post by CaptNoize »

I have Assunder CD Ripper installed on my MX-19 OS. I tried to rip a CD,but when i clicked the rip button, i got a screen that said access denied. It worked before,does anyone know how to fix this problem..?
User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 4079
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: Assunder Ripper Not Working

Post by tlmiller »

My first thought would be to check if your group permissions has changed. Maybe verify you're still in the optical group? Not sure that's what Asunder uses, but it's my first thought (BTW, the only machine I have it installed on, also Debian although Debian 11, it's still working fine.
User avatar
CaptNoize
Posts: 980
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 8:04 pm
Location: Zombieland, Pa.
Contact:

Re: Assunder Ripper Not Working

Post by CaptNoize »

Thanks for the advice. I will check it out and report back.
User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 8662
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC

Re: Assunder Ripper Not Working

Post by crosscourt »

You could always try a different app as I use k3b with MX19 KDE.
Site Moderator
User avatar
CaptNoize
Posts: 980
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 8:04 pm
Location: Zombieland, Pa.
Contact:

Re: Assunder Ripper Not Working

Post by CaptNoize »

I've been so busy with work,I haven't had time to even go grocery shopping. I'll let you know what I find as soon as I can.
User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 8662
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC

Re: Assunder Ripper Not Working

Post by crosscourt »

Ive been sick for over a week so Ive been out of the loop.
Site Moderator
User avatar
CaptNoize
Posts: 980
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 8:04 pm
Location: Zombieland, Pa.
Contact:

Re: Assunder Ripper Not Working

Post by CaptNoize »

I finally had time yesterday to mess around with my computer and tried what TL suggested. I checked where the file was going to be downloaded,and found it was going into a system operating file,which I wouldn't want it to go in,anyway. Changed it to my music file,and it worked..! However, CDDB doesn't seem to work. Seems there is a known glitch with MX Linux. I tried changing port numbers,and /dev/sr0, still nothing. It works sometimes with Kb3, but not always.
So...here's a follow up:
I went back into Asunder Preferences and put in the server pathway freedb.freac.org and changed both ports to 80. Works fine now...! :)
User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 8662
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC

Re: Assunder Ripper Not Working

Post by crosscourt »

This is an old thread but take a look at it as it may help you find a solution.
https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?t=322915
Site Moderator
User avatar
CaptNoize
Posts: 980
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 8:04 pm
Location: Zombieland, Pa.
Contact:

Re: Assunder Ripper Not Working

Post by CaptNoize »

So after reading thru a few threads, I may be downloading and using FRE:AC. Seems like a better choice than Asunder. Thanks for the info. It was quite helpful..!
User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 8662
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC

Re: Assunder Ripper Not Working

Post by crosscourt »

Ive never used Fre:AC. Most of the time I use K3b, depending on the distro XFburn or Brasero.
Site Moderator
Post Reply