What hardware are you using?

Discussion of hardware related issues

Moderator: crosscourt

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 5332
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:47 pm

Upgrading my last SFF today and all will have 3.1-3.2 i5 cpus, 8gb of ram, and SSD drives.
Site Moderator

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 5332
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Sat Oct 12, 2019 8:58 pm

Also installed a sata/power extender on the SSD so I can test other drives without having to pull the housing all the time in the SFF.
Site Moderator

User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 2572
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller » Sat Oct 12, 2019 11:40 pm

Bidding on some new SSD's. Found a Toshiba XG3 (was one of the first NVMe drives to come close to Samsung in performance using the same NAND as the SX6000 Pro I recently had) BIN for $99 free shipping. Seriously considering it to replace the Crucial P1 I have. Also found a MyDigitalSSD SBX 1 TB w/ less than 24 hours to go for <$60. Threw a bit in for $70, who knows if I'll win. The SBX is much like the SX6200, it's not super high performance, but it's very affordable and still far superior to some of the alternatives from better known companies. If I win it...well...I'm not honestly sure what I'd do with it. It's a performance wash against the P1. Still might use it in preference simply because of how much I'm unimpressed with the P1 (it's a 2018 drive, the SBX is a 2017 drive, yet is cheaper and the same performance, with better warranty).

Also looking at a HP Envy on Craigslist. Not really one of my favorites, it's a 15" and 7th generation, but it's fairly cheap, just posted today, and I could run a 1 TB NVMe and a 480 SATA SSD's. Lots 'o speedy storage for a laptop!! And it comes with 16GB ram. So we'll see on that one, it's opposite side of the city, so not entirely certain I want the seller to take my offer (assuming they didn't already sell it).

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 5332
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Sat Oct 19, 2019 12:41 am

Well ended up using two of my SFFs with my tvs to watch online content and went back to my laptop and edock for my personal use. Tlmiller has gotten me hooked on the laptops on the move feel . I still like the fact I can swap out drives far easier on the laptops when I like.
Site Moderator

User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 2572
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller » Sat Oct 19, 2019 6:35 am

:D

Love me some laptops!

Here on my 'new to me' Latitude 3500. Yeah, another. Made a thread about it. Working super well. Think I'm glad I bought it.

User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 2572
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller » Sun Oct 20, 2019 5:29 pm

Seems such a waste to use this laptop to check forums. :D

The thing is insanely powerful CPU for a laptop. INSANE. And here I am, using it to do nothing more than to check facebook and some linux forums. Still, it should get a workout in later, I'm taking this one since we're creating characters for D&D today and several people either don't understand how to use the software we use for it, or they're currently without any laptop so I'll be using this to create theirs for them.

User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 2572
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller » Sat Oct 26, 2019 2:30 am

Got the new Toshiba XG5 SSD in and installed on the 7490. Arch reinstalled. Apparently I hadn't updated my USB and the install failed the first time. There was actually an entirely NEW version out since so just downloaded that and installed from there. As usual, fast, simple, efficient setup. Not quite 100%, but enough that it's usable. I'm going to redo the hw-probe and Geekbench with all the changes recently.

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 5332
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Sat Oct 26, 2019 2:36 am

The E6440 has been an interesting experience so far. First off when installing Q4OS KDE, after the install, rebooted and immediately get the warning invalid partition table, this has happened before. Take the SSD, put it in the E6420 and get no warning at all. Bios is up todate and bios settings are correct.

The E6440 was suppose to have the better display and lighted keyboard and had neither so its been a bit of a disappointment. The E6420 continues to be my favorite.
Site Moderator

User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 2572
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller » Sat Oct 26, 2019 3:04 am

That's how my last E6440 was. Was supposed to have the high res screen but arrived with a low res panel installed. Had to swap it myself. If you're considering swapping the LCD (it's fairly easy honestly), check the LCD cable to see if you need to replace that as well. If not consdering it, then you can ignore that advise.

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 5332
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Sat Oct 26, 2019 3:16 am

The screen wasnt as big an issue as the lighted keyboard and the fact that Ive had some other minor issues with the E6440.
Site Moderator

Post Reply