What hardware are you using?

Discussion of hardware related issues

Moderator: crosscourt

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 7641
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Sun Nov 22, 2020 2:46 pm

The Win7 pc I mentioned above is a Dell Optiplex 7010 desktop with an i5 2.7ghz cpu. I upped the ram from 8gb to 16gb and pulled the Geforce 440 video card as I really didnt need it.
Site Moderator

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 7641
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Tue Dec 08, 2020 12:50 am

Im a maintenance manager in my Condo complex and I ran into a resident who still had a Commodore 64 in mint condition complete, with all add ons/paperwork. I lost mine in a fire and it really took me back years ago when honestly it was a great time for tech enthusiasts.
Site Moderator

wove
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 4:47 pm

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by wove » Tue Dec 08, 2020 1:56 am

That is pretty cool. I went from a Commodore Pet to a Commodore 128. My 128 is still setup and running. It is pretty yellowed over time, but is in A1 working shape. Those were fun machines, full understandable documentation, programming built right in and user accessible ports on the buss. They were impressive then, and remain lots of fun to tinker on today. RiscOS on the Raspberry Pi is fun in much the same way.

bill

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 7641
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Tue Dec 08, 2020 2:35 pm

When I retire Raspberry Pi may become my pet project given its low cost.
Site Moderator

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 7641
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Wed Dec 09, 2020 5:22 pm

PCLinuxOS Darkstar KDE is running extremely well on my older Dell E6400s. They are a bit picky due to their Broadcom wifi and the Nvidia Quadro gpu, not to mention the older bios.
Site Moderator

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 7641
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Fri Dec 11, 2020 5:21 pm

Ive been playing around with an older HP SFF with a Pentium D 3.4ghz cpu, 4gb ram and a 500gb hard drive. Its really amazing to me that this use to be a pretty decent system back in 2005 but how things have changed. Even with a lightweight Linux distro installed its a bit sluggish in general use. It use to be the main pc in my bosses office and I was trying to resurrect it, possibly to a senior who cant afford a system.
Site Moderator

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 7641
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Fri Dec 18, 2020 2:33 pm

Just picked up an E6420 as one of my other laptops was having issues. It appears to have a Nvidia gpu that didnt get along with Mageia 8 and was freezing. So far changing the compositor to Xrender from OpenGL 2.0 seems to have solved issue.
Site Moderator

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 7641
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Sat Dec 19, 2020 5:23 pm

Ive been running the 5.10 kernel with Mageia 8 on my older laptop with no issues. Ive been pleased to see that older hardware will be fine and continued to be used as long as possible.
Site Moderator

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 7641
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Sun Dec 20, 2020 8:27 pm

Just picked up a Dell E4300 from a friend and will probably run Q4OS TDE 3.13 on it using a 128gb ssd and add ram to 8gb.
Site Moderator

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 7641
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Tue Dec 22, 2020 10:04 pm

its funny as I tried to move away from older hardware, yet I find myself still using a lot of it and it works really well for my needs. Only my Chromebook and Ryzen system are recent hardware.
Site Moderator

Post Reply