What hardware are you using?

Discussion of hardware related issues

Moderator: crosscourt

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 9444
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt »

The Dell 3340 and 3350 have been having some issues. I traded for a E6440 recently but a friend had another one he gave to me so, phasing out the 33xx series. Ill run the e6440s with Linux and I already have my 7470/7270 laptops.
Site Moderator
User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 4504
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller »

So the Lenovo K14 arrived. It's VERY light, very small. YAY. The keyboard feels a LOT like a Thinkpad keyboard. It does indeed have 2 DIMMs for upgrading ram. The only downside? The SSD is placed so that it DOESN'T have room to fit a 2260 or 2280 drive in. So it's 2242 only, or 2230 w/ an adapter. I had a BC711 2230 512GB lying around, so I upgraded it to 512 GB, but I can't put the 2TB in since it's a 2280 without doing major surgery to the case to open a window for the drive to stick out. And while the LCD is 1080P, it seems like it's a TN panel 1080P. So still not a bad value, but nowhere near as awesome as it seemed like it would be. I'm installing OpenSUSE on it currently, I'll just skip installing QEMU/KVM since there's not enough drive space to actually run VM's on here.
User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 9444
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt »

Loving my Dell E6440s as the appearance, features, performance and easy to pop in hard drive slot make it a joy for Linux testing/use. All three were physically produced in 2014 and they have a 2018 bios update, so pretty good for older hardware.
Site Moderator
User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 4504
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller »

The T14 Gen3's have finally showed up online at non-ridiculous pricing. Currently though only available in 16GB versions even with Ryzen 7, so no enticement to purchase one. At least they brought the prices down, it was STARTING at $2600 for the r5/16GB, and going to $3400 for the r7/32GB. While the 32GB version has disappeared, the R5 version has come down to $1300, and the R7/16GB is only around $1600, which is much more realistic prices. I won't consider one until I can get r7/32GB though. I'd honestly prefer the Z13, but those are much more expensive than the T series still.
wove
Posts: 687
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 4:47 pm

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by wove »

When I registered my ideaCentre ended up subscribed to Lenovo's sales emails. They remind me of sales literature one gets from the home furnishing places. It seems the price varies depending on what page you are looking at or what day the material was sent. Today's email has 60% off (I did not check into what was 60% off) and double rewards dollars.

I still always associate the "think" brand with IBM seeing them as rather high brow machines, so it seems out of place to see them peddled like questionable used cars.
User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 9444
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt »

A resident on the property gave me a Dell latitude 5440 with the 2ghz cpu,8gb ram and a 240gb hard drive. Hes leaving to go outside the country and was going to throw it away but though I might want it. Its in nice shape and supports both msata and sata hard drives.
Site Moderator
User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 4504
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller »

I miss mSATA, that was a REALLY nice form factor. I liked it far more than m.2 actually.
User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 9444
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt »

Its nice to have the option as most of my laptops like the 7470 only have a single m.2 slot.
Site Moderator
User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 4504
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller »

So, I'm guessing noone will be shocked by this. Lenovo finally put the T14/T14s Gen3 on sale, and it was a good one. Depending on the models, 30% to 50% off. The (currrently as close to) top of the line T14s was 50% off. Ryzen 7 Pro-6850U, 32GB LPDDR5 (soldered, obviously), 2TB NVMe PCIe 4.0, 1900x1200 300-nit LCD (this is the only thing I would have liked to change, I wanted the 1900x1200 400-nit low power) was $1660, down from $3400. So went ahead and ordered it, put it on PayPal Credit (6 months financing no interest). After upgrading the warranty from 1 year to 3-year onsite, and adding accidental damage protection for the full 3 years, it came to a hair under $2K after taxes (free shipping). Supposed to ship Monday, not sure how long it'll take since I didn't spring for the faster shipping on this.

I honestly don't understand why they still have both lines. The advantage of the T14 over the T14s was always that it had upgradable ram, the "s" was fully soldered (although the s stands for slim, since the changes made allowed it to be a bit slimmer). But since the 6000 series uses LPDDR5 and will ALL be soldered, why have the T14 still?
User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 9444
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt »

I really hate soldered ram but a fact of life these days. Couldnt spend that much on a laptop, as not even my Alienware came close to that price.
Site Moderator
Post Reply