Mediatek MT7921/AMD RZ608

Discussion of hardware related issues

Moderator: crosscourt

Post Reply
User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 4504
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Mediatek MT7921/AMD RZ608

Post by tlmiller »

So, picked up one of these just to test with. It's Wifi 6E + BT 5.2, but the 7921/608 only does 80MHz channels, for 160MHz channels you need to upgrade to the 7922/RZ616 (which I'm having a HORRIBLE time finding for sale). Just picked up a single one since I don't have 6e router, this is actually lower performance than an AX200 for me theoretically. Threw it in my T495 running KDE Neon (5.13.0-35 kernel) and it worked out of the box. Seems SUPER fast, definitely FEELS faster than the AX200 that it replaced. Not sure that it is, but feels it.

At any rate, just an internal card that can be easily found VERY inexpensively if anyone needs to get an internal m.2 AX chipset and looking for something that "just works" (does require non-free firmware on most OS's).

I actually really want to find a couple of the MT7922/RZ616 cards now to test them.
wove
Posts: 686
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 4:47 pm

Re: Mediatek MT7921/AMD RZ608

Post by wove »

My old thinkpads have all have bios whitelists for network cards, which block any non-lenovo network card. Has Lenovo dropped that practice? I wish they would.
User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 4504
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: Mediatek MT7921/AMD RZ608

Post by tlmiller »

Yeah, they dropped that almost 10 years ago now. I wanna say the Tx40 was the first model to not come with any whitelists. Although most of those older than that you can get a non-whitelist bios.
wove
Posts: 686
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 4:47 pm

Re: Mediatek MT7921/AMD RZ608

Post by wove »

It is nice to be reminded how old my Thinkpads are :) I think all I own have intel wifi. My wife's X220 is a hackintosh and to get MacOS installed and working, I had to get a 3rd party BIOS (Middleton BIOS(?)) and a broadcom wifi card to get it installed. I did that 5-6 years ago and it still runs MacOS very well.
User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 4504
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: Mediatek MT7921/AMD RZ608

Post by tlmiller »

Yeah, there's 2 hackintosh compatible bios's that I'm aware of, Middleton is one of them.
Post Reply