What hardware are you using?

Discussion of hardware related issues

Moderator: crosscourt

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 4485
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Wed Jul 03, 2019 2:45 am

I rarely run that many apps nor tabs so its not really an issue anyway. Since Im running some Gnome Shell distros I prefer to have 8gb.
Site Moderator

User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 2030
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller » Wed Jul 03, 2019 9:50 pm

I do quite often run that many apps. YAY ADD!!! :lol: :lol:

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 4485
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Mon Jul 08, 2019 5:52 pm

Been running my laptops exclusively now for awhile. Its been an interesting change given what a desktop user I was in the past, particularly with gaming.
No major issues at all except the fact that not all distros work with the edock but there are enough good ones to suit my needs.
Site Moderator

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 4485
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Fri Jul 12, 2019 12:11 am

Just installed 8gb of ram in my recent Dell E6420 but the Intel wifi card that was suppose to show up from Ebay, turned out to be a Qualcomm Atheros card instead. It was seen immediately with no additional drivers but I prefer Intel. E6420 feels far quicker with the 8gb of ram even though most of the distros I use generally do fine with 4gb.
Site Moderator

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 4485
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:13 pm

Vendor is going to send me the right card for free, so Im happy.
Site Moderator

User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 2030
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller » Sat Jul 13, 2019 3:32 am

WOOHOOO!! My Adata SX6000 Pro NVMe SSD arrived!!!

Image

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 4485
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Sat Jul 13, 2019 3:44 am

Nothing like a happy techie! :D
Site Moderator

User avatar
tlmiller
Posts: 2030
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: AZ, USA

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by tlmiller » Sat Jul 13, 2019 3:48 am

With this in there, it took like 5 minutes to install Debian (netinstall, of course, no gui at install). I actually am already done installing everything, and other than setting up my VPN, this laptop is completely finished already. MUCH faster than the m.2 SATA that was in here as a stopgap (Lite-On 256 GB), and on-par with the VERY good PM981 that had come in this stock (which is now in my desktop).

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 4485
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Tue Jul 16, 2019 5:14 pm

Intel wifi card is on the way so the vendor was very cooperative.
Site Moderator

User avatar
crosscourt
Posts: 4485
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:38 pm
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Re: What hardware are you using?

Post by crosscourt » Thu Jul 18, 2019 1:44 am

E5410 just got upped to 8gb and Im impressed with the performance boost.
Site Moderator

Post Reply